Feminist in Combat Boots

I took an Oath to protect the Constitution. Now here are my Constitutional rights. Written by Isabella Francis Mazotti

Complaints against a SARC makes a SARC unjustly awarded the Best SARC of the year award-the story of Lt. Lori A. Alix

We have received copies of emails from a Massachusetts National Guardsman who was raped. Lt. Lori A. Alix, was her Sexual Assault Response Coordinator which whom she filed a complaint against via email (I did see copies of the email) complaining what every other Mass National Guardsman complaints about, a SARC is rarely available when needed.  She felt that her rape allegations were going no where and not taken seriously and she also felt that her allegations against this specific SARC was also not taken seriously. This was confirmed by the ill actions of the Massachusetts National Guard that despite valid and serious complaints about a SARC that they went and awarded this SARC “2010 Exceptional Sexual Assault Response Coordinator” even with open complaints about her. Talk about a slap in the face and the emotional damage that this caused the survivor. You just don’t award someone while there is a pending investigation against something as serious as losing an investigation, doubting the survivor and allowing abuse to occur towards a survivor. A SARC’s job is to protect the survivor from further victimization not contribute to it! Finish the investigation against the SARC and if you still feel she should be awarded then go and do so but not when there is an open investigation against her!

When a rape report is filed, often the perpetrator is promoted while 92% of all rape survivors report being involuntarily discharged from service. It is the same that we see in this case, when a complaint is filed against a SARC they turn it around ans award the SARC. I’ll be following the Massachusetts National Guard and expose their unethical behavior until they change and become pro-helping their own comrades who been raped.

7 responses to “Complaints against a SARC makes a SARC unjustly awarded the Best SARC of the year award-the story of Lt. Lori A. Alix

  1. panayiotabertzikis February 3, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    I have worked with many (actually, the majority) of MST survivors that had to watch their perpetrator go unpunish and often promoted which only understandably cause serious emotional distress to the survivor. The entire military has a history of doing just that in rape cases and I think that this is no different. If there was indeed an active investigation against a SARC and she was rewarded while the investigation was going on it this is a serious offense and should have light shine on and brought to the attention of the public. Knowing their history I am not surprise. If they are serious about helping survivors they would revoke her award but realistically the chances of that happening is slim to none.

    What they are doing is not in the best interest of rape survivors. Every email and communication from the Massachusetts National Guard only put themselves deeper into the hole, often showing that they are more concern about their image than helping a rape survivor. From my end I’ll do all that I could to help survivors. If you are a service member from the Massachusetts National Guard or else where and feel that your SARC is not doing their job contact me. You do not have to deal with this alone. We are going to help you.

    I am willing to work with the Massachusetts National Guard, as I have worked extensively with Kaye Whitley and the DOD SAPRO. I am sure that the Mass National Guard is reading this so my offer is out there. Take the first step to help your very own. If you care a lot about image and how this would look like for the Massachusetts National Guard, nothing does better for PR than improving your agency approach to dealing with sexual assault while admitting to your mistakes and try to work with those that felt they were unjustly treated after reporting an assault.

    Panayiota
    panayiota@stopmilitaryrape.org

  2. anon February 5, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I spent several months trying to have someone listen to me that Alix was not a great SARC who never even assigned me a VA that I needed someone new. Nobody listened. When Alix was deployed I was psyched cause I thought possible I can get someone in her place who could help me. Instead I had Souza who never had the right information about me, Alix probably threw out my investigation and file cause Souza claimed that she can not find it then called me a liar saying that “investigations are not thrown out, are you sure you reported it” of course I report it and have at least 20 people who were deployed with me and knew what happened and could back up my claim.

    Even after Alix was deployed I still tried to get some justice for what she did. I sent tons of emails and filed official complaints (still have copies of everything) and eventually they said “she the best SARC that we have. She won an award” That day was horrible. I drove home in tears just thinking of ways to die. I am still suicidal thinking about what happened to me in the Mass National Guard.

    I WAS RAPED. MY PERPETRATOR IS STILL IN AND HAS BEEN PROMOTED. MY SARC DID NOT DO HER JOB AND THEY HONORED HER. THE OTHER SARC CALLED ME A LIAR AND TALKED DOWN TO ME. NOT ONE PERSON IN THE ENTIRE MASSACHUSETTS ARMY NATIONAL GUARD SEEMS TO CARE WHAT HAPPENED TO ME. I KNOW PANAYIOTA SPOKEN TO GENERAL CARTER BUT WTF IS THAT GOING TO DO? NOTHING. THE DAMAGE IS DONE. LIFE IS BETTER OFF NOT LIVING AT TIMES. I HATE EVERYONE INVOLVED IN COVERING THIS UP

  3. J February 5, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    When you call an emergency hot-line you should expect somebody to pick up. The Massachusetts National Guard needs to step up and start taking allegations seriously. Women who are raped should not be required to redeploy with their rapist, women who just been raped should be able to reach someone to report it, SARCs who do not deserve to be rewarded should not even those the National Guard wants to discredit a survivor and a rapist should not be promoted but instead sent to the brig and be required to register as a sex offender. The Massachusetts Army National Guard does not take their sexual assaults seriously and this has proven exactly that.

  4. Zev February 11, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Where does the 92% involuntarily discharged figure come from? I’d like to quote that.

  5. Jennifer-Lee Norris July 30, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    The Air National Guard SARC in Massachusetts is a flippin’ joke too!!! My squadron got deployed overseas for over six months. When the squadron got back, everyone’s morale was low and a lot of people got out of the military. The perception while they were deployed was that this girl (before she became a SARC) slept with our Commander while deployed. I tried to stick up for the Commander and tell them that there was no way that this was true. I couldn’t believe it AND still feel loyal to him. I was told over and over and over by many people that I was wrong and that it was true. Shortly after they returned, this same girl was given her MSgt stripe and she didn’t even know her job nor did she have enough time under her belt in this new career field to know her job or warrant a MSgt stripe. Guess what? She was transferred out after getting this stripe and now she is the SARC. It’s a fucking joke and I would punch her right in the face if given the chance. I hated the military even more after all this because as they say, “perception is reality.” When I found out that she was the SARC I contacted her via Facebook and told her how important the position was and that I hoped she took it seriously. Guess what? The bitch unfriended me. This chick jumped from job to job to get her stripes, never really knowing a whole lot about anything, except how to fuck up what other woman were working so hard for…RESPECT. I hope she reads this and I hope her Command reads it too. Her name is Lori Alix.

Leave a Reply

